Call for Submissions | National Contemporary Art Award 2018

Submissions close Wednesday May 9, 1pm

Waikato Museum, Hamilton

The National Contemporary Art Award can be described as brave, colourful and never shy, an award which takes on an exciting genre – contemporary art. Contemporary art is simply described as art that has been and continues to be created during our lifetimes. In other words, contemporary to us. Or more simply, the art of now.

Key members of the Waikato Society of Arts initiated and launched what we now know as  the National Contemporary Art Award in 2000. Gavin Hipkins won the inaugural Trust Waikato National Contemporary Art Award and received $10,000 for his photo of a soap dish.

Artists entering this year’s National Contemporary Art Award, managed by Waikato Museum, will now vie for a prize pool of more than $27,000.

The overall winner will receive $20,000 from Tompkins Wake and Chow Hill. The Hugo Charitable Trust will sponsor the Hugo Award for the Runner-Up, with the recipient receiving $5,000, and each merit award winner will receive $1,000 sponsored by Friends of Waikato Museum and Random Art Group.

Important dates:

  • Entries open Thursday February 15 2018 and close 1.00 pm Wednesday May 9 2018
  • Entrants will be notified if their work has been selected in the week beginning Monday May 21 2018
  • Waikato Museum will announce finalists the week commencing Monday 21 May 2018

This year’s award will be judged by the Director of Pātaka Art Gallery and Museum, Reuben Friend.

Entry Form

For more information, terms and conditions please go to the Waikato Museum Website

Date(s) - 15/02/2018 - 09/05/2018
All Day