Call for Entries | The Molly Morpeth Canaday Award 3D

Entries close on Friday December 1, 2017

The Molly Morpeth Canaday Award – 3D has been established to provide a valuable professional platform for a range of practices, including sculpture, installation, and contemporary craft. It looks to recognise the quality and diversity of three dimensional work in New Zealand at present.

Following the close of entries on December 1, the pre-selection judging panel of Jasmine Te Hira, Scott Eady, and Deborah Crowe will independently select potential finalists from the digital entries. Successful works from this stage will go through a second round of judging, to be carried out in early February 2018 by Deborah Crowe as Guest Judge.

Awards will be announced on opening night 17 February 2018 at the exhibition venue Te Kōputu a te whanga a Toi -Whakatāne Library and Exhibition Centre.

2018 Awards 
$10,000 Major Award – Molly Morpeth Canaday Trust
$4,000 Runner up – Akel Schulte Award
$2,500 Craigs Investment Partners Youth 3D Award
$1,000 Arts Whakatane Award
$500 Gordon Harris Ltd – Merit Award
$500 4 Artsake Gallery Merit Award
$500 Law Creative Group – People’s Choice Award

$500 Merit Awards x 2

The 2018 Molly Morpeth Canady Award – 3D is presented by Arts Whakatāne and Whakatāne Museum and Arts. The Molly Morpeth Canaday Awards have been made possible through the generous support of the Molly Morpeth Canaday Fund, established by Frank Canaday in memory of his wife Molly Morpeth Canaday. The trust has been a major supporter of the arts in Whakatāne for over twenty five years.

Please see   for further information including criteria, award history, and entry forms.

Date(s) - 01/08/2017 - 01/12/2017
All Day