Call for Applications | Fulbright-Wallace Arts Trust Award

Applications due Monday July 23, no later than 5pm

The annual Wallace Art Awards profile outstanding examples of contemporary New Zealand art. Through establishing the awards in 1992, Sir James Wallace’s aim was to foster, honour and support the practices of visual artists. Over the years some of New Zealand’s most prominent artists have entered and the residencies awarded to the winners have transformed their careers. Past winners have included Andy Leleisi’uao, Yuki Kihara, Mark Braunias and Judy Millar.

Differing from other major art prizes, the Wallace Art Awards provide broadening experiences to the five major winners by way of various residencies at top-class international institutions. Artists can submit work in the mediums of painting, sculpture, audio-visual, print, photography, drawings and interdisciplinary arts.

The Fulbright-Wallace Arts Trust Award is for an outstanding mid-career or senior New Zealand visual artist to undertake a ten week residency at Headlands Center for the Arts in Sausalito, California. One award valued at US$24,000 is granted each year, towards a ten week artist residency.

Fulbright New Zealand was established in 1948 to promote mutual understanding through educational and cultural exchanges between New Zealand and the United States of America.

Apply for the Fulbright-Wallace Arts Trust Award here.

To be eligible, you must:

  • have a suitable background in the visual arts. The minimum qualification is a Bachelor’s degree, or the equivalent artistic or professional achievement;
  • have a specific project on which you propose to work on during the residency; and
  • meet the citizenship requirements for this award.

Date(s) - 14/06/2018 - 25/06/2018
All Day